An Update From Me

I am now into my second year studying at Aston University for a degree in Marketing.  This also means that I am applying for marketing industrial placements for next year!

I have just completed the first week of my second year and am scared about the work load already.  The modules I am studying this term are B2B Marketing, Marketing Research, Marketing Psychology and Marketing management.  On top of this I am also required to study in general business modules such as Business Game, Business Policy and Strategic Finance.  A lot of the assessment is based on coursework in the form of group projects.  Although this is something that can be a big inconvenience,  working in a group is a key skill for any business discipline.

As well as this, I am well and truly into the tough application processes many big firms require you to go through in order to be awarded a place on their internships.  I have applied for handful of placements now.  I have made good progress with two firms in particular; I have a telephone interview with Microsoft on Wednesday and an assessment centre with IBM the Wednesday after that.  To give you an insight into how rigorous these firms are, IBM’s application process is as follows:

  1. Online C.V submission
  2. Numerical Reasoning test
  3. First assessment centre (my current position) – involving another test, group discussions and group problem solving exercises
  4. Second assessment centre – involving a presentation and interview

As you can see it is a very demanding recruitment process.  But I am sure it will be worth it in the end.  As I am aware that a lot of my readers are business students, I will be keeping you informed with my progress with each company. I am sure many readers will, at some point in their lives, also apply for similar positions and could benefit from learning about my experiences.

I will be updating the blog with traditional marketing news/opinion on an ad-hoc basis; I will do it as much as I possibly can.  As my normal posts require considerable research time,  the majority of my blog posts this academic term will be about my search for a placement.

Thanks for your time and I hope you can learn a lot from my blog.  At this point I’d like to say congratulations to Meera who managed to pass MBA marketing modules after becoming a subscriber to my blog!

© Joshua Blatchford, author of Manifested Marketing, 10/10/2010

Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

